DEV Community

Cover image for Maths for Programmers - Rearranging Equations
James
James

Posted on

Maths for Programmers - Rearranging Equations

Become better at maths!

Are you able to write perfectly functional code, but find the language of mathematics somewhat confusing and hard to make sense of? Are you
someone who can look at code like this:

int total = 0;
for (int i = 0; i < 10; i++) {
    total += i * 10;
}

but have a complete failing of understanding when presented with equations like this or can take an equation such
as speed = distance / time and use it, but have problems when needing to rearrange the equation to work out the distance travelled?

Me too, and it's annoying. So what I'm doing is (re)learning some basic maths and creating pretty documents explaining it. The first one can be found behind the link below. It explains how to rearrange equations, including how to deal with fractions. Using this should help you in rearranging simple algebraic equations so that they give the answers you need.

As I learn more maths concepts, they'll be turned into PDFs and put up here too. I'm not a mathematician, I'm a programmer so where possible this will be explained with the minimum of maths jargon. I'll translate it into computing jargon instead. However, over time I'm sure the maths jargon will start to make sense.

This post has been taken from my website Sausage Factory Games

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
feroxneto profile image
Fernando Ferox Neto

Nice idea James, I'm definitely interested in it.

I hope you take the project forward