DEV Community

Neil An
Neil An

Posted on

Adding CI to my SSG

Hi everyone,

This week I added CI to my SSG. I used GitHub's CI service GitHub Actions to accomplish this. It was very easy to set up as I just had to find the Node.js workflow and add it.

This is what the YAML file looks like:

# This workflow will do a clean installation of node dependencies, cache/restore them, build the source code and run tests across different versions of node
# For more information see: https://docs.github.com/en/actions/automating-builds-and-tests/building-and-testing-nodejs

name: Node.js CI

on:
  push:
    branches: [ "main" ]
  pull_request:
    branches: [ "main" ]

jobs:
  build:

    runs-on: ubuntu-latest

    strategy:
      matrix:
        node-version: [14.x, 16.x, 18.x]
        # See supported Node.js release schedule at https://nodejs.org/en/about/releases/

    steps:
    - uses: actions/checkout@v3
    - name: Use Node.js ${{ matrix.node-version }}
      uses: actions/setup-node@v3
      with:
        node-version: ${{ matrix.node-version }}
        cache: 'npm'
    - run: npm ci
    - run: npm run build --if-present
    - run: npm test
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Here's the link to my successful workflow run.

I also added a test to a partner's SSG. Writing a test for their SSG was not difficult as their code was easy to understand. They were using the same testing framework/workflow as me.

I think CI is extremely easy to set up and very useful to have. It's important for the main branch of a project to be running and working at all times.

Top comments (0)