DEV Community

Neil An
Neil An

Posted on

Adding features to my SSG with multiple branches

Hi everyone,

This week, I continued to work on my SSG and I added two new features.

The first feature was adding a new --lang option which will allow users to indicate the language to use when generating the lang attribute in the HTML file. To implement this feature, I first added a new option -l or --lang that the user can use to specify the language. I then took that language that the user passed in and put it into the HTML template so that the lang attribute would be written correctly. By default, the lang attribute will use en-CA (Canadian English). The issue. The commit.

The second feature was adding Markdown support for horizontal rules. This means that the Markdown --- will get converted to <hr> tags in the HTML file. I first found lines in the Markdown file that was the horizontal rule, then I converted those lines into <hr> tags in the HTML file. The issue. The commit.

The main difference I did when adding these features was working on different branches for each issue. I worked on each issue separately and did not share any code between the two branches. After finishing the code, I merged both branches one by one. Thankfully, there were no issues that I ran into and everything went smoothly. I learned how to work on different branches and how to merge different branches into the main branch.

Top comments (0)