DEV Community

Neil An
Neil An

Posted on

An internal PR

Hi everyone,

This week I fixed a UI error on Telescope, an aggregate of blogs from Seneca students. The project set-up took some time for me because there were a lot of different things I had to install and use, but the documentation provided helped me set the project up. After running the project, I discovered that the sign-up form had a UI error on the YouTube/Twitch form:

Image description

The button says VALIDATE BLOG, when you're supposed to be validating your YouTube/Twitch URLs. To fix this, I first had to learn the project's code and directory structure. Eventually I found the place where the code for that form was. After making the change to VALIDATE CHANNEL(S), I received some feedback to add some padding to the button and change the text to just VALIDATE. Here's the end result:

Image description

The biggest challenge I faced was not the code itself, but using Git. I was asked to squash all my commits into 1, but I accidentally updated the branch and merged the master branch into my local branch, so I couldn't rebase properly. After some extremely helpful advice from some peers, I was able to squash all commits into one and get my PR merged.

Top comments (0)