DEV Community

Neil An
Neil An

Posted on

Contributing to another SSG project

Hi everyone,

This week I contributed a code change to my partner's repo (StaticSiteGenerator). More specifically, I added Markdown support to their SSG so that the tool can handle .md files. I also added support for the SSG to translate Heading 1's (specified by "# ") into <h1> tags in the generated HTML files.

The first thing I did was I created an issue here. Basically, I just described that I wanted to add Markdown support to the tool. Next, I updated the source code to allow for Markdown files to be used and to translate Heading 1s into <h1> tags. The process for generating HTML files from .md files is pretty similar to using .txt files, so I didn't have to make huge changes to the code. After testing my code and making sure I didn't break anything, I created a pull request to the repo.

After my partner reviewed my pull request, he asked me to change some duplicated logic. It was pretty straight forward and he even provided a suggestion for me, so I didn't really face any problems. The biggest thing I learned was how to update a pull request because I have never done that before. Next time, I would commit more changes to my pull request so that the reviewer can break down step by step what I added.

My SSG repo also received a pull request for adding Markdown support and the Markdown bold syntax feature. The pull request was submitted by my partner. I didn't find anything too major that needed to be changed. He documented his code well, so I understood what and why he added certain things in the code.

Top comments (0)