DEV Community

Neil An
Neil An

Posted on

My first PR for Hacktoberfest

Hi everyone,

This week I created my first ever pull request for Hacktoberfest. This was a new process for me, so I was pretty nervous.

Finding an issue to work on was a long and tough process that took days. Originally, I had found two other issues that I wanted to work on, but they were completed before I got to submit my pull requests. I decided to look for a more simple issue to work on just so I could get my toes wet and chose this repo.

The issue was to add a copy to clipboard button on the website so that the user could copy a quote to their clipboard for use. To add this feature, I first created the button in HTML and added an icon to the button to make it look nice. Then I coded the button's functionality so that whenever the user clicks the button, the quote on the page would get copied. I made sure to follow the owner's coding style and to document my code. The owner of the repo approved my code with no changes. The issue was pretty easy to implement, but I'm glad I was able to really start my open source journey.

Top comments (0)