DEV Community

Neil An
Neil An

Posted on

My fourth Hacktoberfest PR

Hi everyone,

This week I completed my final Hacktoberfest PR. For my final PR, I chose to contribute to Astro reactive library. Astro reactive library uses the Astro framework to let you build reactive user interfaces.

The issue was to create a demo page showcasing everything the library has to offer with form control. This issue was interesting and a bit challenging to work on because I had to learn the Astro documentation before I could start writing code. The syntax and coding style in Astro is different from other frameworks, but it was fun learning new things. The main benefit of Astro vs other frameworks is that websites are built faster. The cool thing about Astro is that Astro is built from components and it's syntax is a superset of HTML. An Astro component is denoted by its file extension .astro.

After familiarizing myself with Astro, I started to create my demo page. I decided to use the tailwindcss framework to help me style my page since Astro supported it. This meant I had to read the tailwind documentation to style my page. Finally, after familiarizing myself with tailwind, I created the html for my page. For the demo page, I designed and created a job application page. This page included many form control types like text, radio, dropdowns, checkboxes, file upload, and a submit button. To do this, I used the built-in FormGroup from the library. I had to read the other parts of the source code to make sure I was using it correctly. Finally, I finished the page and created a pull request. The most difficult thing about this PR was reading the documentation and making sure I was using the frameworks correctly.

Top comments (0)