DEV Community

Neil An
Neil An

Posted on

My third Hacktoberfest PR

Hi everyone,

For my third Hacktoberfest PR, I worked on this repo. Devmate is a project for developers to find other developers who share the same skills to become friends.

The issue was to improve the UI of a box containing the number of developers found that share a skill. Design is not my strong suit, but I decided to try to improve the design anyway. To start, I took some inspiration online for some designs. I decided to use a gradient colour scheme to make the box pop out and found a nice text font and colour to contrast against the background. I made sure that the design looked good for both the light and dark mode since the website supported both. Here is my pull request.

Before:

Image description

After:

Image description

Top comments (0)