DEV Community

Cover image for How I Set Up a Project With Eleventy
Nathan Blaylock
Nathan Blaylock

Posted on

How I Set Up a Project With Eleventy

Introduction

This is a quick overview on my typical setup for an 11ty project. I really like how it is set up and want to share it with other people.

File Structure

.
├── assets
│   ├── favicon.ico
│   └── ... (img, pdf, etc.)
├── dist
│   └── ... (output static files)
├── node_modules
│   └── ...
├── pages
│   ├── _data
│   │   └── global.js
│   ├── _includes
│   │   ├── _footer.njk
│   │   ├── _head.njk
│   │   └── _nav.njk
│   ├── _layouts
│   │   └── default.njk
│   ├── 404.njk
│   ├── index.njk
│   ├── pages.json
│   ├── uikit.njk
│   └── ...
├── styles
│   └── style.scss
├── .eleventy.js
├── package.json
├── package-lock.json
└── README.md
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Eleventy Config File (.eleventy.js)

const pluginSass = require("eleventy-plugin-sass");

module.exports = (eleventyConfig) => {
  // Copy our static assets to the output folder
  eleventyConfig.addPlugin(pluginSass, {});
  eleventyConfig.addPassthroughCopy({ assets: "./" });

  return {
    dir: {
      input: "pages",
      output: "dist",
      layouts: "_layouts",
    },
  };
};
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

NPM Installs and Scripts

Obviously, you need to install Eleventy. I use it as a dev dependency rather than loading it globally.

I install rimraf in order to clean my output directory everytime I build the site. By default, Eleventy won't clean out files in the output directory if you move them or delete them.

I Use cross-env to set environment variables (development or production). This is used in my global data so I can show or hide certain things depending on if I am in development mode or production. For example, I may use vue.js in development to use the browser dev tools, then use vue.min.js in production.

npm install --save-dev @11ty/eleventy rimraf cross-env eleventy-plugin-sass
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I use three scripts in my package.json file.

"scripts": {
  "dev": "npm run clean && cross-env ELEVENTY_ENV=dev npx @11ty/eleventy --serve --output=dev",
  "clean": "npx rimraf ./dist ./dev",
  "build": "npm run clean && cross-env ELEVENTY_ENV=prod npx @11ty/eleventy"
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Global Data

Using cross-env combined with the package.json script you can set an environment variable and use it in your template file. For nunjuks, just use {{global.env}}.

// ./pages/_data/global.js

module.exports = {
  env: process.env.ELEVENTY_ENV
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Pages Global Data

One of the things that I have found a lot of people want in Eleventy is to set a default layout for the project. In Eleventy's documentation, it says that you can add a <directory>.json and it will use that data as the default data for every template page in that directory. The issue is in the root of the project you can't specify that. If you use a directory like pages as your input directory, then you can set a pages.json and use global data there. The most used one is the layout for me. Most all of my layouts should use "default". You can easily override these in the template front matter. Here is my example:

{
  "layout": "default",
  "description": "default description for project",
  "title": "Default Project Title"
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Top comments (0)