DEV Community

Cover image for A Half-baked Work at Glam Up My Markup
Đăng Tú
Đăng Tú

Posted on

A Half-baked Work at Glam Up My Markup

This is a submission for DEV Challenge v24.03.20, Glam Up My Markup: Camp Activities

What I Built

Base on the skeleton, I add CSS to make it looks a bit fancy and use Js to improve UX (More specific, turn a whole form into multiple sections for focusing purpose)

Demo

https://ndt-challenge.gitlab.io/dev.to/1st/glam-up-my-markup

sample screenshot of the work

Glam Up My Markup · main · Challenges Accepted / DEV.to / 1st - 20Mar2024 · GitLab

on2024(20 Mar, 31 Mar) | demo: Glam-up My Markup

favicon gitlab.com

Journey

A lot of fun during working but due to deadline, I cannot polish my work any longer. The main reason behind this mess is because I want to play with Solid. I always like it but rarely have a good chance to use it. So I decied to use it on this simple challenge.

At first, every looks nice enough with just simple 2 nav buttons, go forward or fallback, easy peasy. But then, me being stupidly greedy decided to add 1 tiny feature. Just like a client used to say, only a tiny button, what could go wrong? Yep, only a tiny "reset" button and I burn my whole cute little project into ash.

So till now, at the moment I'm writing in the middle of the night (GTM+7), my code has been through at least 2 refactoring times and I still have no idea what I did. Many problems are still there and many other features will never see the sun light...

So, technically, this work isn't worth to submit. But I still want to submit with a hope that somebody can give me a few advices to improve my code. Right now, I'm stuck with the fact that createEffect of SolidJs doesn't seems to work in change event of select. Oh, suggestions for clean code are welcome too.

Top comments (0)