DEV Community

nick-landas
nick-landas

Posted on

Alive and kicking: You're not too old to start a career in coding.

A crossroads

After just over 20 years in law enforcement on the west coast, I stood at a crossroads: Do I continue in a field that I am competent in and still physically capable of doing though experiencing some jadedness? I initially answered my question by choosing to remain in law enforcement but doing so at a different department and in a different state that was closer to extended family. I believed the change would revive and refresh me professionally.

A chapter closes

However, within a few months of being at the new department, I came to the conclusion that my time as an officer was complete. This chapter in my life was over. The community appreciated us and the town enjoyed a high-degree of safety. But I sensed in myself a lack of desire to work in this field. I did not want to be one of those who "quietly quit" and just received a paycheck and benefits as some could be tempted to do.

What's next?

After personally dodging the COVID bullet for three years, It finally got me despite ample vaccinations. During my down time, I had plenty of moments to spend with my thoughts and made the decision to resign from the department. I knew I could no longer be a police officer. But what could I do that was professionally and intellectually challenging and had social value? What interests did I have? What schooling or training might I need?

A promising path - but clouds of doubt loom on the horizon

It was during this time that I researched potential career paths and reached the conclusion that software engineering was the front runner for all the things on my checklist. But what to do next? I was on the verge of reaching the standard speed limit of 55 as far as age goes. I thought, "Will ageism be a factor?" and "Can I actually learn this material?"

Fears averted

The good news is that the field of coding and programming is ripe with stories of people who are career changers or transitioning from being full-time homemakers to successful software engineers.

Never too old

The other good news is that you can do it! In fact, scientists say that learning languages (even artificial ones) is beneficial to the neuroplasticity of our brains. Babies and small children aren't the only ones whose brains can adapt.

Coding similar to language learning

Re-shape your brain
How to exercise your brain

Coding sucks...sometimes

Don't assume coding will be easy, though. There will be times of genuine struggle that probably have nothing to do with age - it's just the nature of the beast that coding is: everyone hits obstacles and roadblocks in their learning.

Although it took me a second round to accomplish it in phase 1 of my coding bootcamp, the ideas and concepts of coding (for me - JavaScript) have firmed up and I am looking forward to the next phase.

As the ancient Roman programmer Codicus (😉)once said, "Amplecti Sugentus" or more simply put, "Embrace the Suck." Commiserate with your fellow younger coders and let them know there will be similar frustrating and trying moments in their lives in other areas beyond coding. Opportunities may arise for you to speak truth gleaned from your many years on this earth into the life of a younger software engineer/coder/programmer that will save them heartache in those non-professional areas.

Don't be afraid - "Try not! Do or do not! There is no try!"

You CAN do it if you're willing, determined, dedicated, undaunted and undeterred. Let the professional world know that you're still "Alive and Kicking" and have plenty of gas left in the tank and plenty to offer their company.

Top comments (0)