DEV Community

Cover image for Review: Fifine Ampligame AM6 Condenser Mic
Nick Taylor
Nick Taylor Subscriber

Posted on • Updated on • Originally published at nickyt.co

Review: Fifine Ampligame AM6 Condenser Mic

Before we get started, please note that Fifine sent me a microphone for this review.

Packaging

The AM6 comes in a nice box and is very well protected with foam.

Fifine Ampligame AM6 Condenser Mic box

Fifine Ampligame AM6 Condenser Mic box open with instruction manual on top

Top foam taken off of Fifine Ampligame AM6 Condenser Mic box showing the base of the microphone in the box

You probably could have dropped it from a few floors and the mic probably would've still been fine in the box. 😅

Construction Quality & Controls

I didn't realize it initially, but the AM6 is mainly hard plastic compared to other microphones like my previous one, the Blue Yeti. That means, if you're not careful, you could damage or chip it.

Because it's casing is hard plastic, it's much lighter. I had to tighten my mic boom arm a bit to prevent it from popping up, which wasn't an issue with my previous heavier mic. Not a big deal, but just something to be aware of.

On the top of the microphone, you tap it to mute/unmute. This works really well. The only minor issue I have with this is I can't see the light indicating whether it's muted (red) or not (green). I need to look just under the pop filter, as it obscures the light with the way it's on my mic boom arm.

On the bottom there's a noise-cancelling button, button for changing the microphone lighting color, and a headphone jack.

Aside from that, there's a dial for the gain, another dial for the headphone volume and one last dial that allows you to switch between gaming and chat mode. I don't really game, so I have it turned all the way to the right for chat.

It's a USB microphone that comes with a USB-A to USB-C cord.

The one thing the microphone doesn't have is an off button, but for my setup this is a non-issue as I have a USB hub with physical buttons to turn ports on and off.

My USB hub

The Look

The microphone looks fantastic.

Fifine Ampligame AM6 condenser mic on a mic boom arm with my monitor in the background

I love the aesthetic of the pop filter and the fact that it lights up, and you can change the colour of the mic.

Sound

I'm not an audiophile, but this mic is a condenser mic which is typically better than a dynamic mic from what I've understood especially for something like what I do, coding on live streams and interviewing people.

You can hear in this clip from a recent livestream of mine. Someone asked if the gain was at different levels between the Blue Yeti and the Fifine AM6, but they were both cranked to the max so I honestly think the AM6 sounds better.

Wrapping up

If you're looking for a budget microphone, the AM6 packs a lot of punch for the price point (80$ CAD currently). As someone who is not a sound guy, I really like the look, the controls and the sound quality. It definitely suits my needs as a content creator.

Links to purchase the Fifine AM6

Other places you can find me at:

🎬 YouTube

🎬 Twitch
🎬 nickyt.live
💻 GitHub
👾 My Discord
🐦 Twitter/X
🧵 Threads
🎙 My Podcast
🗞️ One Tip a Week Newsletter
🌐 My Website

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
andypiper profile image
Andy Piper

OK, now I have to ask - what hub is that with the switched ports? That's handy!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor • Edited

It’s this one on Amazon amazon.ca/gp/aw/d/B095Y5R8HD . It’s available in North America, not sure if they have it in the UK Amazon.

Collapse
 
andypiper profile image
Andy Piper

I don’t think that is a link to the item page…

Thread Thread
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Oops. This is it, amazon.ca/gp/aw/d/B095Y5R8HD