DEV Community

Nicole Saunders πŸ’»πŸŒΉ
Nicole Saunders πŸ’»πŸŒΉ

Posted on

Working Remotely

I really want to start looking for remote web developer positions but I'm not sure where to start. I know HTML and CSS fairly well and I'm getting there with JavaScript. I feel like at this point I can look up anything that I don't know (which I'm understanding is normal even for the most experienced developers).

My question is, do I need to know more before I start looking for a job? If not, can anyone suggest where I should start looking? I really want to get a good start in this field and I'm really tired of holding down jobs that have nothing to do with where my heart is. Any advice would be appreciated.

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
michaelgv profile image
Mike • Edited

My advice to everyone:

  1. Ignore β€œremote experience required”
  2. Apply, do the interviews
  3. Show them - prove to them- you can be productive as they expect
  4. say no to the coding challenge unless it has merit and is something they experience often - instead offer to do a challenge with one of their engineers to prove worth
  5. If you think you’re ready, apply for everything
  6. Don’t be afraid to say you don’t know something, but make sure to iterate that you’re happy to learn
Collapse
 
nicostar26 profile image
Nicole Saunders πŸ’»πŸŒΉ

Thanks Michael! Any good places to find postings or should I just do a google search and see what comes up?

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

remoteok.com seems a good place to start, also well known 100% remote companies like Automattic, Buffer or Basecamp

Good luck!

Collapse
 
nicostar26 profile image
Nicole Saunders πŸ’»πŸŒΉ

Thanks!

Collapse
 
nicostar26 profile image
Nicole Saunders πŸ’»πŸŒΉ

i remember having a profile up on Upwork so I'm glad you mentioned that. Thanks a bunch!

Collapse
 
naimashaikh profile image
NaIma shaykh

Hi . i would suggest you to try Microverse.org for the remote job and training as well .microverse.org