DEV Community

Shviam
Shviam

Posted on

programming for new people

hey, this is my first article. this is for people the what to start out in the fantastic world of coding but don't know where to start. I am making it for people like me when I started out on Jan 1 2023 I watched some tutorials and made some toy projects to get familiar with the language you can find it hear. if you already know what you want to do go to roadmap.sh. find YouTubers according to what you want to become. make a Twitter account to keep up with new changes to the tech industry and the same for Discord and Reddit by actively can contributing to open source and to the coding/development/programming community
to sum up I would like to say:
be on Twitter, Reddit & Discord
make some fun project that you want to make not what people say will improve your resume or CV. That is something you do when you know what you are doing
contribute to open source it can be as little as a spelling error in the docs
and most important of all have fun coding
check my website and look at my Python portfolio
happy coding

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.¸☆ • Edited

Thank you so much for writing this for us! I highly appreciate it! It can be hard for somebody new to find their way. I will certainly take your suggestions to heart, thank you again!

Collapse
 
nightdev profile image
Shviam

I am glad to hear someone found this useful.

Collapse
 
nightdev profile image
Shviam

I just saw your website it is good. and I noticed that you are also Norwigien. gessing from Oslo or near. Hear is my website nightdev4l.web.app