DEV Community

Cover image for Nikema's 100 Days of Code - Days 12-13
Nikema
Nikema

Posted on

Nikema's 100 Days of Code - Days 12-13

I started a course on WordPress development. Having fun with it. I didn't log yesterday, so today's log combines the last two days.

I'm starting to get used to writing and looking at PHP. I only touched PHP over 10 years ago. I never felt comfortable with it. I think working with React and JSX made catching on to WordPress PHP easier for me.

Also helpful are the VS Code extensions, I installed for use with my WordPress course. Brad doesn't recommend any extensions, but I added WordPress autocomplete and PHP IntelliSense ones.

https://github.com/johnbillion/vscode-wordpress-hooks
https://github.com/bmewburn/vscode-intelephense

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
wrldwzrd89 profile image
Eric Ahnell

Interesting project. I am not a fan of WordPress, but it's certainly popular. I hope to hear about some way you made it better in the future. Knowing your determination, you're bound to succeed eventually.

Collapse
 
nikema profile image
Nikema

I’ve been saying I’m not a fan of WordPress too but it’s growing on me as I learn it. I’m excited about building tools for non-programmers. WP was a “no-code” tool before it was cool.

Collapse
 
mccurcio profile image
Matt Curcio

Great Job!
I have dabbled a little with WP but my community has a big WP Meetup.com group. I have found like most things there are peeps that love and hate it.
But if you like that is awesome!

Collapse
 
nikema profile image
Nikema

I was in the not loving it camp but I think my frustration was because I am a programmer and I wasn't using WordPress to its full potential. It's frustrating to try to find solutions through plugins when I know I'm capable of creating solutions through code.

Actually learning it now feels empowering.