DEV Community

Cover image for My first 'Code' PR in Hacktoberfest
nikiljos
nikiljos

Posted on

My first 'Code' PR in Hacktoberfest

I started getting into open source and learnt Git during Hacktoberfest 2020. Back then, I completed my PRs doing small contributions like listing out something in a README and making PRs to my own repo...

This time, I really wanted to take it to the next level doing awesome PRs that actually got some code changes. As usual I was going through some repos and came across a repo were we could add the names of tools that were useful to us...
It was a NextJS site, and all tool names were hardcoded, which made it extremely difficult for beginners to contribute. Since all tags were same and only the data changed, I thought why not make the data in a separate file as a JS Object or JSON.

I initially opened an issue saying that and thought why not I try it myself😀. I was at first reluctant to start since I haven't used NextJS or even ReactJS before. Still I cloned the repo and started trying it out... And I was able to do it🤩

I was so excited and opened a PR and to my surprise, it got merged... I couldn't say how happy I was🥳
github ss

And now, because of the change in my commit, the way all others added data in the repo got much better...

I was able to contribute even more to the repo after that...

Image description

Thanks a lot to Hacktoberfest for getting me into the world of Open Source🙏

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
memidhun profile image
Midhun Mathew

Nice man ❤️