DEV Community

Nills van Limbeek
Nills van Limbeek

Posted on

What to write about?

I'm in the process of starting a blog and sharing the articles I write for my blog around the web.

I've been reading a lot of articles here on dev.to mostly as a source to grow as a developer, and I really impressed with the quality of the posts here 😁
There has been so much information here that I might have missed if I wasn't a member of this awesome community.

Lately I've been playing with the idea of also starting to write my own posts. Mainly for learning, if you really want to learn something then you should teach it.
The other reason is that I want to give back to the community that has given me so much already.

I already have a (short) list of subjects I want to write about. But I'm curious how do you come up with subjects to write about?
It seems that every subject had already been covered multiple times here on dev.to

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
wangonya profile image
Kelvin Wangonya • Edited

I usually come up with stuff to write about when I'm reading a book or working on a new project πŸ˜„ those are the periods when I learn a lot and writing gives me an avenue to share what I'm learning, and understand it better in the process.

It doesn't matter if something has already been written about many times. If you think about it like that, you'll never write anything, because literally everything has already been written about in one way or another. The best way to get around this is to add a personal touch to it. Connect it to a personal experience. Explain it your way.

I'm looking forward to reading your articles πŸ™‚

Collapse
 
nillsvanlimbeek profile image
Nills van Limbeek

Thanks for your advice about how to write articles ✌️
I'll keep that in mind

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel πŸ•΅πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ Fayard

Type your favorite subject here, and see what questions the public wants to be answered!
answerthepublic.com/

Collapse
 
nillsvanlimbeek profile image
Nills van Limbeek

This is a cool app. Thanks for sharing 😁