DEV Community

Nill Webdev
Nill Webdev

Posted on

5 useful VS Code

This is a curated list of the shortcuts you should learn as soon as possible. I really wish I knew them when I started coding. It would have saved me hours of manual typing.

Default shortcuts for Linux. Mac and Windows shortcuts are displayed below if different.

1. Ctrl + Shift + P: Displays the command pallete

(Mac: Cmd + Shift + P)
Displays the command pallete where you can search for an action

text

2. Ctrl+Shift+E : Move to Explorer window

(Mac: Cmd + Shift + E)
Move to Explorer window where you have your file tree and can navigate using the arrow keys.

text

3. Ctrl + Shift + L: Multi cursor selection

text

4. Ctrl + D : One by one selection

text

5. Ctrl + Shift + I: Formats the entire file

text

Bonus: Wrap with Abbreviation.

Helps you add that missing div tag to an HTML block for example. It is not enabled by default, you need to do it in keyboard shortcuts preferences. Use shortcut 2 listed here (yeah \0/) -> type Preferences:Open Keyboard Shortcuts -> search for Emmet: Wrap with Abbreviation -> choose a key to bind it. I use Alt + M.

text

I really hope that this little checklist will be useful for you and save you a few hours of manual typing. Thank you for reading.👩‍💻

Top comments (0)