DEV Community

Nirjas Jakilim
Nirjas Jakilim

Posted on

My Experience on Hacktoberfest 2023

My Journey:

I have been participating hacktoberfest since 2021. And here's 2023 and I am on my third hacktoberfest. Though I haven't got time to contribute much but have the chance to complete my goals of 4 PRs. Here's the last PR link that I have got to merge.
https://github.com/public-apis-dev/public-apis/pull/219

This year I have focused much on the non-code repositories rather than coding cause fixing and improving the documentation and increasing the resources for open source developers was my first goal.

Some tips for newcomers:

Remember, always set your goals before jumping into contribution like which type of contribution you want to make. Then search for good first issues and repositories with the hacktoberfest label that matches your goals.
Take some time to read the contribution guidelines (This is really important. Cause every open source repository has guidelines and rules to follow. It can be from contributions to creating pull requests.)
After this do your contribution and create the pull request according to guidelines. Have patience. If the maintainer is inactive then wait for a day to two and then mention him as we have deadlines.
Happy Hacktoberfesting!
Any problems? give me a shout.

Top comments (0)