DEV Community

Cover image for Nevertheless, Nishiki Coded in 2021! πŸ‘©β€πŸ’»
Nishiki Asumi Yapa
Nishiki Asumi Yapa

Posted on • Updated on

Nevertheless, Nishiki Coded in 2021! πŸ‘©β€πŸ’»

Hey you! Yes, you! Stop right here βœ‹

You know what? If I am doing this, you can do it too!

'Nevertheless, she's coded!' As soon as I spotted a post about this on LinkedIn, Me to myself: "Yes, it's time to write another article and share something, Let's give it aΒ try!"

SoΒ here I am πŸ˜‰.

Let me tell you about myself first!

I am Nishiki Asumi Yapa, from a small island in the Indian Ocean called Sri Lanka. I'm reading Software Engineering, and I'm going to graduate in a year from today. After that, I can call myself a 'Software Engineering graduate with a first/second-upper (hopefully 🀞) degree'.

I'll start like this;

What is the most annoying thing you ever heard from others?

"Oh! Can you do the documentation right? Girls can do that task better than boys,"
"Can you check the documents with your girlfriends?"
"Certainly you can do the presentation"
"Let's appoint a boy as a leader"
"Girls can not do coding"

c4c55553ea3f28a1e5da9271ac0bc773

Why do people keep saying these things? Is it their fault? No! No! No!

It's your fault girl! πŸ˜₯

You are the reason behind their actions!
Maybe you're wondering what is the reason behind their action too!.

I've been volunteering for dev activities for a couple of years now. What I've noticed from the events I've been taking part in is that girls are not involved. It doesn't matter whether it's a hackathon or a technical session or some other competition.

I'm holding a position at Women in FOSS at my university, and even though we're planning any events, the girls don't come forward. No matter how hard we forced them, and request them repeatedly. They won't step up.

Why don't you step forward? Is there anyone who tells you that you can't do it? Is there anyone who tells you that you can't code?

I'm a really shy girl in my first year of college, too. But I realized that there is no one but you are the only person responsible for your life.

If somebody says you can not do it, just show them your capability. Even though we are quarantined and we are spending our new normal life, do not let your skills die.

There is always first time for everything. At first, you might feel it is hard to do, it is impossible to do. but when you start doing something and make it as habit, the impossible will turn into possible task.

No one is perfect, including myself. I am not a super techy person but I am still trying to achieve my goal.

One of my wise friends once said "Grab your opportunities, if not, make opportunities for you!"

tenor

Do not give up, believe in yourself! πŸ’–
Good luck with your journey and stay safe

Top comments (0)