DEV Community

Keff
Keff

Posted on

What's the funniest variable/class/method name you've come across?

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
itsasine profile image
ItsASine (Kayla)

My favorite in my own code is jiggleMouse()

Code review tried to get me to change it, but I only would if he could come up with something better. It moves the cursor ten pixels down, ten pixels right, ten pixels left, ten pixels up so that my UI tests don't hit page timeout when validating big pages of data. It's literally jiggling the mouse.

Collapse
 
nombrekeff profile image
Keff

Nice one! I imagined a (real) mouse jiggling xD

It's definitely a good name, I can't think of a better one at the moment.

Collapse
 
itsasine profile image
ItsASine (Kayla)

"His jiggling is almost hypnotic" - Simpsons

Collapse
 
ahferroin7 profile image
Austin S. Hemmelgarn

My personal favorite was a function I came across almost a decade ago now named what_is_this_for() which, when passed a function that was a method of a class would return either the name of the class it was a method of, or "I have no idea!" if it couldn't find the class the method belonged to.

I don't remember anything else about the code base I saw it in (I can't even remember what language it was written in), but the sheer silliness of both needing a function that does that, and using that name for it (and that return value on a lookup failure) has always stuck with me.

Collapse
 
darkwiiplayer profile image
𒎏Wii 🏳️‍⚧️ • Edited

utils.deepinsert() not sure how funny it is, but it sure sounds wrong xD

Collapse
 
ncoquelet profile image
ncoquelet

Found in our code base : VeryBadArchiFuckYouRunner.java ...

Collapse
 
sqlmancerqueuellc profile image
SQLmancerQueueLLC

DoMiracle(). Requirements were so vague that I didn't even know what it was supposed to do. So I named a stub as DoMiracle(). While waiting for clarification some documentation was created from the codebase. Once I got the requirement clarification, I was required to keep the name as DoMiracle since they didn't want to have to get signoff again on the documentation that had been generated.

Collapse
 
nombrekeff profile image
Keff

For me, it was loadShit()

Collapse
 
anuraghazra profile image
Anurag Hazra

I sometimes mistakenly write useMeme instead of useMemo.

When i was building my project BugVilla, i did something like Bug.findOne(), Bug.removeMany()

Collapse
 
nombrekeff profile image
Keff

Funny xD I have done the useMemo typo as well