DEV Community

nukeop
nukeop

Posted on

If Copilot generates postcardware, where should you send the post card?

I was recently asked a question that stumped me: where should one send a postcard if an artificial intelligence coding assist tool accidentally generates license stating that the code it made is postcardware?

I'm not sure what the answer is, but I thought I'd share my thoughts on the matter.

It seems to me that there are two possible options. First, you could send the postcard to the company that made the tool. After all, they're the ones who released the code into the world, and they should be held responsible for its actions.

Alternatively, you could send the postcard to the person who wrote the code that the tool generated. They're the ones who actually created the code, so they should be the ones to get the credit (or blame) for it.

Personally, I lean towards the latter option. It seems only fair that the person who created the code should be the one to receive the postcard. But ultimately, the decision is up to you.

So, where should you send your postcard? I'm not sure. But I hope this article has given you something to think about.

Top comments (0)