DEV Community

Moses_Ogada
Moses_Ogada

Posted on • Updated on

One thing At a time....

Learning how to code requires patience and proper planning. There are a lot of new technologies that hits the market daily. Focusing on one at a time is the best trick to overcome this curiosity. That doesn't mean you put aside consistency. Actually I stabilized on my learning culture within four months, it may be different for you. Considering my 8 to 5 daily job and lots of travels, I decided to give two hours every morning for proper coding studies. I had jumped over many books covering different programming languages but when the time was right I decided to pick one and it worked fine. I spent about one year moving from point to point, it's not a waste of time though. Many small concepts that i accrued within that period still helps me a lot. So this is what i did to solve my own problem.

  1. Convinced myself that I have many years to be perfect and reach at senior level.
  2. Focused on frontend web development. HTML/CSS and JavaScript. each independently and in sequence.
  3. Picked on a frontend framework. React JS
  4. Basics of code versioning and sharing, Git GitHub
  5. Worked on small pet projects.
  6. Picked on Ruby
  7. Advanced to Ruby on Rails.
  8. Still at step 7 but trust me I have hit over 100 contributions on GitHub. Small number ,yes but that's a great achievement on my side.

I didn't say you must do all this but just check and try out what works best for you.

Thanks for your time in reading and commenting.
Happy Coding!

Top comments (0)