DEV Community

Omar Hussein
Omar Hussein

Posted on

New Open-Source Beginnings

Hi there, my name is Omar, I’m an enthusiastic software developer who loves a good challenge. My favorite field in software is automation and building self managing solutions. Watching machines do work and perform tasks that would otherwise require hours of manual work has a pleasing feeling that is hard to describe!

I’ve always loved open source development and have been trying to use as much open source software as I can in my personal life. I’ve also been an avid Linux as a daily driver user for almost 2 years now! Open source software has taught me many things that I would otherwise be oblivious to by being able to read the code and examine how certain operations are being performed!

Although I have only contributed code once to a Wordpress plugin, I’ve filed a few bug fixes for developers to address in libraries and programs that I use on a regular basis. My goal from this class is to learn how to contribute to larger projects and to be able to have code that can run around the world - my silly poetic vision of code contributions ;) -. I want to be part of the open source community and be able to help on projects that I have experience within the field for and help others by solving issues and improving projects!

Top comments (0)