DEV Community

tumao
tumao

Posted on • Updated on

Getting to know DO App platform

Intro

I am junior dev, but I have previous experience with Heroku and DO droplets. So I decided that I should try an alternative.

First step

So I decided to deploy strapi to DO App platform, just to test it.

Setup seemed easy, evnironment, databases, everything one click.

But then came the deployment.

I was waiting up to 20 minutes for some deployments!!!
One single change in strapi? Waiting 20 minutes. Just like that. I hope it is only for the first build.
I am using the $5 plan, but waiting 20 minutes every time would be unacceptable.

Update

Any subsequent builds run on average for 3 minutes, which is on par with heroku. So I see no problem here.

I will be updating as I progress.
Do you have similar experience, or some tips?

Top comments (0)