DEV Community

Cover image for the cloud turns everything upside down !
Clive Da
Clive Da

Posted on

the cloud turns everything upside down !

NOTE TO MGR : I promise this is my last post of the day and I will start to do some REAL work - and actually I do have a oracle london meetup to go to tonight !

BUT the idea of running my "Theia Personal" instance as my primary UI and then launching SSH inside that just goes 'against' 20 years of running BASH / SSH / terminal as my primary UI and launching eclipse/mousepad/vscode from that !

local browser running remote theia running ssh running top

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
twitmyreview profile image
Priyab Dash

Theia looks more like VSCode. What is different in Theia. At the outset I can see that it is cloud and desktop based.

Collapse
 
osde8info profile image
Clive Da

yes its VERY similar ! and yes the main difference is that theai has no ui interface built in so you can only edit files via your browser !