DEV Community

Ken S
Ken S

Posted on

Laptops Shipped with Linux?

I have been considering getting another laptop specifically for Linux. I know companies like Dell and Lenovo have been selling laptops with Ubuntu pre-installed. The upside is that I can just unpack it and set it up. I'd imagine that companies like Dell and Lenovo ship these laptops with their own software installed similar to the way they do with Windows, so I'm a little hesitant.

Is there any potential for privacy and performance concerns in regard to purchasing a laptop pre-installed with Linux vs purchasing a Windows laptop and installing Linux myself?

I'm open to any recommendations.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
muchwowdodge profile image
Anton Rhein

Maybe take a look at the devices by Tuxedo or System76. They ship with decent hardware specs. System76 in particular provides its own, Ubuntu-based OS called pop-os, which allows for firmware upgrades through normal OS settings and other neat stuff.

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy 🎖️

I'm pretty sure you won't get much if anything in the way of bloatware/spyware with Dell or Lenovo Linux boxes.

Collapse
 
sushovanpaul07 profile image
sushovanpaul07

Buy a laptop with just DOS and install latest LTS version of Ubuntu into it.