DEV Community

Cover image for Writing a NES game, day 9, my friend ChatGPT
Draculinio
Draculinio

Posted on

Writing a NES game, day 9, my friend ChatGPT

Yesterday I started to do some more complicated code. That in assembler can be a REAL pain. At some point nothing was working and I didn't have a clue on why. In "normal" programming languages that can be easy to debug and fix and easy to see where the problem is (well, not all the time but you have a lot of hints), in this thing it is HARD, VERY HARD.
In my desperation I asked chatgpt if he can help me with 6502 nes code and said yes.
I had to copy all my code to the chat and after several iterations it started to work again.

Now I think that chatgpt is not perfect and he misses the point some times, but it resembles me of coding with friends, see what is wrong and try to fix things. It is not a solution but a GREAT help.

Now I have to fix something with the looping (seems that every time I release, the character goes again to the starting position but I think I know why...)

Top comments (0)