DEV Community

Panda Quests
Panda Quests

Posted on

What is more important for you? The reputation of the company or the content of your job?

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
itsasine profile image
ItsASine (Kayla)

What the job is

Which is silly since I work for a ridiculously large healthcare company so the impression from on high is that we all work to save lives. Job stability is far more my motivation. But now LinkedIn recruiters are all like "yay saving people, here's more healthcare gigs" when I care far more about what the code is than where the code is. I'm dreadfully bored at work. My motivation is to be unbored since bored people get laid off for lack of work. Not saving people. I can't save people if I can't make rent -- gotta take care of me first.

Collapse
 
sarehprice profile image
Sarah Price

I would say the reputation of the company. I can be happy doing a lot of different things for work, however I can't stand behind an unethical company or be at a place that has a bad rep. Not only would I feel awful, but I'm not sure it would look good to future employers or my peers.

Collapse
 
pandaquests profile image
Panda Quests

That's actually a good point. You probably would shoot yourself in the food if you have bad employers on your cv

Collapse
 
aniketsnv1997 profile image
Aniket Sonavane

The role of my job