DEV Community

Pandiyan Murugan
Pandiyan Murugan

Posted on

what motivates you to be independent blogger?

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
gsto profile image
Glenn Stovall
  • First and foremost, I like helping and teaching others. Writing gives me a way to go more in-depth on answers than I would be able to in person, over email, or in a forum comment.
  • It acts as a demonstration of skill in a different way than a portfolio. Case Studies show that I can code and do the labor part of the job. Writing displays communication and problem-solving skills.
  • Lastly, I enjoy doing it. I think writing can be a big level up for any developer, but I wouldn't advocate for blogging unless its something you would enjoy doing.
Collapse
 
dianacoman profile image
Diana Coman

Writing is a way of structuring thought - and as such I would heartily recommend it to anyone. Just like with everything else, "enjoyment" is just an indicator of how good (or poor) you are at what you are doing so if you hate writing, chances are very high that you'd benefit most from doing it more.

Collapse
 
scottishross profile image
Ross Henderson

I use it to help collate my thoughts regarding a concept I've learnt or a problem I've solved. Not only is it me giving back to the community that's helped me, but it really it's about making sure I understood the concept enough.

"If you can explain something and someone else understands, only then you can say you've learnt it".