DEV Community

Marco Pasqua
Marco Pasqua

Posted on

Second Issue of Hacktoberfest

Hey everyone, unlike in my recent Hactoberfest blog post. This one will be more about the second issue I have created for Hacktoberfest, as I'm still waiting on it to be approved by the repo owner. So I'll talk about the repo I found and what I plan to do for the issue that I made instead.

Calc for Everything

The repo that I found this time on my search for Hacktoberfest was the Calc for Everything repo. The main goal of the repo is to provide a calculator for almost everything, whether it be computer science or math related. I thought this was a pretty cool idea, as when I was still in high school I wished that some of the calculator sites I used would offer me formulas/equations for any subject. I saw that the line up of Physics calculators was a little lacking, so I decided to first read the CONTRIBUTING.md file before creating an issue.

Creating the Issue

I decided that the Physics calculator that I would like to add would be the formula to find density. The formula is p = m/v. With p being pressure, m being mass and v being volume. The formula would return a value of kilograms/cubic meter (kg/m3) for density. Since mass would be in kilograms (kg), and volume being in cubic meters (m3). The formulas is somewhat a commonly used in physics, if I remember correctly. So I thought it was be great to introduce that calculator into the repo. After this, I created the issue.The repo has templates for issues based on what you would like to do to the repo, which I thought was interesting as I'm sure it probably saves the repo owner sometime since it makes you be a little more direct and specific on what you're doing.

Plans to Solve the Issue

Moving on, my plan for the calculator was to follow a similar format based on the designs of other calculators, as a way to have consistency within the program. I would have two text boxes asking the user add in their input, making that it's numbers only. Then once they click the next button that gets enabled when the boxes are filled, the program handles the equation and returns the density of the two values to the user. It should be nice and simple, and is a step above from the previous issue I worked on, which was just adding a table of contents to a README.

Overall

I think that adding in a new feature is a great step forward in terms of my journey through Hacktoberfest. However, at the time of writing this, I am still waiting for my issue to be approved, which I hope will be approved soon. If I complete this issue and have the PR approved, I will only have 2 issues left to contribute to for Hacktober. For those last two, I'm going to try looking at a bigger and more complex repo and maybe try to fix a bug that was addressed in an issue and complete another issue for the same repo. I have already looked at some bigger and more complex repos, but I found myself getting overwhelmed by the issues created, as I had no idea where to even start on solving the issue. Hopefully this changes in the future. Anyways, thanks again for reading this far and catch you all in the next post!

P.S. If you know of any good repos to contribute to, don't be afraid to leave a comment down below. Thank you in advanced to those who do.

Top comments (0)