DEV Community

Paulina Carolina
Paulina Carolina

Posted on

Cangrejo mentality it’s not an exclusive LATAM phenomena

Have you ever experienced or have seen "cangrejo mentality?" Yeah, people trying to pull down those who are achieving success or making progress?

This phenomenon is well known here in Mexico and I have also heard a lot of that in LATAM but it’s not limited to us, the Latino community.

It can be observed in various parts of the world and can hinder progress and growth in all kinds of industries.

Recently something personal happened to me and I got flashbacks from something VERY similar that took place 4 years ago.

Back in 2019 I had a misunderstanding with a woman from the Netherlands who was asking for people to collaborate on a portfolio for volunteers to level up their curriculum. I was active for 3 months but couldn't get my schedules and work hours to match theirs because of different time zones. I told her that I wouldn't be able to continue working with them and that I needed to have that experience reflected in my CV, so I was going to start something similar for myself. She blocked me and deleted my contributions, she was REALLY ANGRY but never did vocalize what she wanted to do, I think we could solve that just by talking!

What if we could learn from each other, celebrate our achievements, and create a supportive and uplifting community?

One example of such a community is Technolatinas, a group of women in tech who are dedicated to promoting diversity, equity, and inclusion in the tech industry in LATAM

When I first joined Technolatinas, I was impressed by their genuine contributions and uplifting attitude of the members.

They REALLY encourage each other to share their skills, collaborate on projects, and support each other's career growth

Let’s start embracing diversity, applaud others, grow and keep growing ✨🫶🏽 that’s POWER ✨🫶🏽

Top comments (0)