DEV Community

paulo-p
paulo-p

Posted on

🤓 Design Pakialamero Ep. 01: Kalibrr Skill Cards

Pakialamero is a Filipino word that means meddler or busybody.

Caricature of a busybody by Francis Howell to illustrate that character sketch by Theophrastus.


Hello everyone! I've dabbled too much in the backend, and I am itching to write front end code on my free time, so today we will be medicating ourselves with making stuff that may or may not look better.

The Guest

To start off this series, I will be looking at this cool website called Kalibrr, it's an app for looking for jobs (I'm open to hire!). Specifically, their skills component in their profile route.

Kalibrr profile skills component

Amazing, very professional looking. But I think it lacks a bit of flair. Firstly, it's pretty hard to distinguish between different levels of skill, and secondly, it's even harder if someone is visually impaired or looking from afar. Also yes, I completely understand that this is a nitpick.

Now I for one, am an advocate for showing important information more visually. In my opinion, a design is good, if even when you're looking at it from afar, it's instantly recognizable and intuitive.

What did I do?

I added a bit of color to distinguish between levels, and in order to make the knowledge of skills more intuitive, I added a little bar on top of the card.

Revised basic skill card

Here I added my favorite JavaScript framework called PHP. It's a great language to learn on!

Here is the full set:

Revised skill cards group

Love all those JavaScript libraries. They're all amazing.

Here it is from afar:

Skill cards from afar

I feel like jobseekers and recruiters will benefit from this. It may show a better summary of someone's skills, and the recruiters will spend less time looking at someone's background in technical skills.

What do you think?

Does my design look better? Or have I broken too much design consistency for the page? I believe the small sacrifice is needed for more informative content. Let me know what you think!

PS. If you haven't already known,

I use TailwindCSS, btw. And for those who are annoyed with all that ugly-ass HTML that comes with it, go download inline-fold on VSCode.

Image description

Top comments (0)