DEV Community

Phillip A. Bailey
Phillip A. Bailey

Posted on

k42s, a full kubernetes cluster running on top of vagrant.

Alt Text

Welcome to my very first post to the wonderfull community of dev.to and the broad audience of the internet. I do apologise whether this would sound as Shameless plug but somehow I would like to share my lates Kubernetes project.

Today I'm proud to present k42s, a full Kubernetes cluster running on top of Vagrant.

Why “k42s”?

This project is the result of getting my hands dirty with Kubernetes trying to fulfil my innate curiosity to understand how things work in the nitty-gritty details. In the beginning I have started poking around with Minikube, which at that time was quite convenient to run my experiments and demos. However, moving forward I have realised that to have a holistic understanding of Kubernetes ecosystem I had to play with something near running it in a real multinode production cluster where would possible to experiment with network policies, load balancers, ingress controllers, storage and more. Hence, I decided to build my own portable Kubernetes lab and share it with the world.

Code repository - https://github.com/p0bailey/k42s

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt

What is the full name of k42s? Is it realky 42 characters long?

Collapse
 
pbailey profile image
Phillip A. Bailey

42 is the Answer to the Ultimate Question of Life, The Universe, and Everything.

:)