DEV Community

Paul Michaels
Paul Michaels

Posted on

Suggestions for a blogging platform

I've been using Wordpress since I started my blog in 2014. I'm now starting to wonder if it's time for a change. I'd like to canvas opinions on self-hosted blogging platforms. Ideally, I'd like to be able to use Markdown to write the articles, and have some kind of styling option (or be open source so I can just style it myself).

Any suggestions?

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
stereobooster profile image
stereobooster

Do you want to use database as backend (like in Wordpress) or file system (like in Jekyll, Hugo etc)?

I use Hugo. I heard about Ghost, but haven't tried it.

Collapse
 
pcmichaels profile image
Paul Michaels

Ideally a file system.

I had heard about Ghost a while back; it looked good, but I think I came away believing it couldn't be self-hosted (although looking now, I might have been wrong about that). Hugo looks interesting, though - I might investigate that.

Collapse
 
stereobooster profile image
stereobooster

There is a list of static website generators if this is your thing staticgen.com/

Collapse
 
steelwolf180 profile image
Max Ong Zong Bao

Well as mentioned by some readers, you could use a headless CMS like Contentful which I write my articles in markdown and use the Gatsby startup project or themes to get you started.

You can look at the article below to see if this might work for you.

Collapse
 
dorshinar profile image
Dor Shinar

Gatsby is the way to go! You can use markdown, CMS, or pretty much whatever you like.

Collapse
 
ockang profile image
Edinson Carranza Saldaña

Use seo wordpress: edinsoncs.com/