DEV Community

Pelumi Oluwategbe
Pelumi Oluwategbe

Posted on

MERN Stack Learning path

Been a long time I wrote, but here I am. Hopefully I'll write more these days. So in my React journey (also learning Node JS along), I started this tutorial building a social media application and I'm currently at the back end part of it. I was stuck in one aspect for hourssss. Left it, watched a movie to clear my mind and came back but I still didn't get it. I even asked ChatGPT lol (it must've been tired of me today if it could get tired). Tried different methods and stuff. What I was trying to achieve was updating a particular post and I was testing the function on the postman app. Code snippet below:

Image description

So I followed the tutorial well, and it just wasn't working. The console gave the error below:

Image description

So after googling and asking ChatGPT for help, I found out that BSON error means that the arguments passed in the url wasn't complete so I checked my Postman url again and noticed that there was a new line after the url and wondered how in the world I could've missed such. Picture below:

Image description

It's amazing how a simple error set me back and I'm currently pissed at myself for that, but then it's all part of the learning journey so it's cool. So whoever is reading this, don't give up. If your code isn't working, check over and over again. Don't forget the details. Alright, till next time.

Top comments (0)