DEV Community

Thanh Tien Phat Nguyen
Thanh Tien Phat Nguyen

Posted on • Updated on

Chin up after each pull request you make!

Every week in my OSD600 class comes with interesting things. Lab 2 is about adding a new feature to your classmate's repo which is the Release 0.1. I chose to add a feature that enables us to show the archived versions of a website by using Wayback Machine APIs.

What I have learned

All it takes to make a pull request

Thanks to the artice of Kedar Vijay Kulkarni on https://opensource.com, I have obtained all I need to make a pull request. I highly recommend you to check out his article if you are still new to the scene.

Alt Text

How to be more patient

Since it takes a quite amount of understanding of other's code to modify their app, I have learned to take more time to read and understand the code which is not mine. To be honest, I barely read carefully other's code before. Basically, I just take a look at the code block that meets my needs.

From other's code I can see how people have a different approach to a situation

Like I said, it is pretty awesome to find out that there are better solutions than mine for a particular issue. By which, I mean there are things I can learn from people to better myself. Thanks to that, I know this is what a community is for.

Top comments (0)