DEV Community

Olzhas Askar
Olzhas Askar

Posted on

Hello, World!

Since this is my 1st blog post here, I decided to "Hello, World!" Actually, I think the Kazakh version is better:

print("Sälem, Älem!");
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Anyways, you might object that I have two posts, so this is my second one. In other words, 1st.

Donald Knuth

The last time I was blogging was in the summer after my high school graduation. I had a lot of time before university and hands itching to type a lot of nonsense. Gradually I developed into a passive reader, not bothering myself with commenting, even if the duty called.

Call of Duty

My problem with blogging is that I don't know how to write well what to write. And because it would probably end up with me writing a couple of posts which no one would read, I never even began.

Now it's time to educate. Myself, first and foremost. I am about to start at a new place, where I'll be paid twice, so this blog is a kind of dedication from my side towards the second payment. I will direct a 12 post series about CSS Battle 1, first of which you might have already read.

Initially, I wanted to post on Medium. You know how it works.

  1. Achieve something. Anything.
  2. Declare yourself an expert in that field.
  3. Write an enlightening Medium post to share your success.
  4. Your life was not meaningless, everybody will admire you forever.

Then I read Kent Beck complaining about the paywall which prevents his readers from getting the knowledge. Then I heard from a friend of mine about freeCodeCamp and Hackernoon moving away to their own respective platforms and other developers coming hereto. Well, I thought to myself, it's still Medium, how would my life be accomplished without posting there? I could show solidarity with the community but still duplicate my posts both here and there. I tried to start a post, found out that Medium neither supports Markdown nor highlights code syntax and came straight to here. One should perceive the general mood seriously, after all.

So, that's me. And what about you?

By the way, is there a post scheduling feature planned? If I knew Ruby, I'd probably try to contribute, but I don't.

P.S. Did that semicolon drove you nuts, too?

Top comments (0)