DEV Community

Cover image for I'm new here. Please handle with care.
Santos R Jimenez
Santos R Jimenez

Posted on

I'm new here. Please handle with care.

Welp, I made it.

As a kid growing up in the 90s, I always admired the computer programmer. To a 10-year-old, its magical. And I wanted to learn how to do the magic things.

The first book I picked up unveiled the ugliness of code.

I just assume that whoever wrote the book was from mars. No one I knew spoke the way the book presented itself. Honestly, I could not grasp the concept of this magic.

So, I gave up.

Many years later after failing to graduate art college, I made my way back to my hometown. I took this time to reevaluate life. After working in the IT field for 6+ years, I decided to give it another try.

This time it was different.

Something inside me wanted to understand that ugly code. Honestly, it was the hardest topic I've ever tried to study. So far, I am enjoying the challenge.

And so, I've decided to become a software engineer.

My software engineering apprenticeship has been very rewarding so far. I am one week in and I'm enjoying every moment. It feels so alien to be a part of a group of like-minded individuals. Hopefully my journey will lead me to where the grass is always greener.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
leliaking profile image
Lelia King

Santos - I am SO GLAD you found this group of like-minded folks. What a cool community to be part of, isn't it? I really enjoyed reading this and I look forward to hearing more of your story. Keep it up!