DEV Community

Cover image for Nevertheless, Promise Coded in 2021!👩‍💻
Promise👩‍💻🇺🇬🇰🇪
Promise👩‍💻🇺🇬🇰🇪

Posted on

Nevertheless, Promise Coded in 2021!👩‍💻

How it started👩‍💻
If on this day last year, someone told me that I would have accomplished this much into my journey in tech, I would not have believed them. After my high school in 2019, I was still wondering which course im going to study at compass,I had a friend who was in tech and I had always wanted to get into tech. Therefore, in October 2020 I was introduced to the programe called codeHive run by AkiraChix the "leading source of African female tech talent", I applied and got into the programe,I was introduced to many programing languages including Javascript,Python and Kotlin, as time went by I fell into Web Development. The programe lasted for one year and thereafter, I decided to continue learning as a self-taught developer. Here I am 3 months later!

My most recent achievement🏆 was...
Learning and building mini projects in JavaScript. I've been struggling with JavaScript since it is my favourite programming language but I'm proud that I've tackled that, and built mini-projects.

Advocating for myself looks like…
Self-affirmations 😊
Taking breaks when necessary.
Reminding myself that an expert in their field was once a beginner.

My biggest goal is…
Grow career-wise and support other women transitioning into the tech industry and even those in the industry. The first few months can be tough. I am thankful to all the women that continued to encourage me to get going. There were days where I felt so demotivated and wasn't sure if I'd get to achieve what I had set out to do, but watching or listening to other women's stories about how they got to navigate similar obstacles really motivated me.

My advice for allies to support underrepresented folks who code is...
Give them a chance.

Top comments (0)