DEV Community

Cover image for Should I attend each & every training in my office❓
Pooja Mansukhani 💻
Pooja Mansukhani 💻

Posted on

Should I attend each & every training in my office❓

Today I came up with this topic because I observed that a lot of people don't want to attend training programs organized by their firms and only a handful show interest.

I guess a lot of people have surplus money to splurge on paid training programs and give the free training programs organized by their offices a miss. Sometimes, even if it is useful for them, they find reasons not to attend.

They either make excuses or convince themselves by saying:
a) it's not for us
b) we've already learned a lot
c) we're satisfied with the work we are doing.

Category one people:
A company announces training on advance react. People who know the basics of this topic will think it is advanced and even if I attend this, they won't be able to understand anything, so they skip it 😐

Category two people:
Wow! the company is providing training on advance react. I already know the basics and whatever this session covers will benefit me. I will get to know some advanced topics as well. It will help me to get involved in react. Yeah, I will attend this.😇

In simple terms, If you don't know what you need to learn then how will you learn? Always, try to involve in all the training programs organized by your company. Believe me, it will really help you grow.

Learning is to mind what exercise is to body. Your mind stays active when you engage it in learning something that you like. Having said this, it is not necessary that you sign up for all the training programs your office organizes. Relevance, interest, benefit, and the learning objectives are a few factors you should consider before opting for a training program. Soft skills are a completely different area and the criteria for selecting a program are very different. Most of the soft skills topics are interconnected and focus on softer aspects like personality, thinking, attitude, behavior, etiquette, and many more, hence relevance is always present for someone who wants to work on his or her soft skills and personality. In the world of soft skills, the more training programs you attend the more you learn.

What also important is protecting your learning appetite so that you can keep learning forever. Sometimes, it is recommended that you give yourself a break from learning and let your mind relax failing which you experience a loss of learning appetite. Loss of learning appetite is often a result of over or exhaustive learning. Striking the right balance is the key.

One more thing I would like to add here is please don't give an excuse such as I am busy I don't have time to attend. Not at all! If you have time to eat, sleep, use your phone, check friend's status or stories, which are useless, then why not dedicate some time to learning. Your knowledge and skills will help you more than anyone can. Remember that.

Happy learning & attend training 😊

Top comments (0)