DEV Community

Pradipta Sarma
Pradipta Sarma

Posted on

Save time remembering SSH hosts

As part of my work I regularly have to SSH into various hosts to perform some actions or to debug issues.
Every time I do it, I head to our internal cloud dashboard to figure out the IP address of the host that I need to SSH into. There are a few hosts for particular services that I SSH into very frequently, almost on a daily basis.

It is not possible to remember IP addresses, which look like 10.12.13.14.

Assigning a name is easier. I now have created aliases for my most frequently used hosts.

On the ~/.zshrc file, I added:

alias ssh-service-env-zone="ssh ipaddress"

The next time I wish to SSH into ipaddress, I can just do a ssh-service-env-zone.

This gets even better with Auto Suggestions and Syntax Highlighting. For details check out this blog

Top comments (0)