DEV Community

Pragadeesh Nehru
Pragadeesh Nehru

Posted on

Alien XO (Alien Themed TicTacToe)

This is a submission for the Web Game Challenge, Build a Game: Alien Edition

What I Built

I created an alien-themed Tic-Tac-Toe game called Alien XO. The classic Tic-Tac-Toe format has been redesigned with an intergalactic twist—players compete as aliens instead of the usual "X" and "O" symbols, adding a fresh, otherworldly feel to the game. The UI features a vibrant alien design, making the game visually engaging, while maintaining the simplicity and fun of the original Tic-Tac-Toe.

Demo

You can play Alien XO here: [https://tic-tac-toe-pragadeeshn.vercel.app/]

The code for the project is available on GitHub: [https://github.com/pragadeeshnehru/TicTacToe]

Journey

Building Alien XO in React was a fun and rewarding experience. I started by developing the basic game logic for Tic-Tac-Toe and then focused on integrating the alien theme through custom designs and CSS styles. Here are some highlights of the journey:

  • I've managed to implement a alien theme for this game.
  • Learning how to implement React state management for game logic was one of the key challenges, especially managing player turns and determining the winner.
  • Styling with Tailwind CSS helped bring the alien-themed visuals to life, from alien icons to futuristic backgrounds.
  • I experimented with different animation effects to give the game an interactive feel.
  • I have implemented a log system to record player moves.

What I Learned

Throughout the process, I deepened my understanding of React, particularly component-based architecture, state handling, and conditional rendering. I also explored CSS animations to add subtle transitions that made the game more interactive. This project allowed me to combine creativity with frontend development skills, and I’m proud of how everything came together.

What’s Next

I plan to enhance Alien XO by adding features such as:

  • Multiplayer mode: Allowing two players to compete from different devices.
  • AI opponent: Adding a single-player mode where the player can compete against an alien AI.
  • Leaderboard: Tracking wins and losses, so players can challenge each other.

Top comments (0)