DEV Community

Cover image for Looking for your first remote job? Here's how I found mine
Pragyan Tripathi
Pragyan Tripathi

Posted on

Looking for your first remote job? Here's how I found mine

Before Covid, it took me 1.5 years to land my first remote job.

Here are the strategies that I used to land my first remote job without getting lucky.

StoryBoard

Read along!

In 2018, I was fed up after working in two failed startups back to back. They asked too much of me both physically and mentally without giving much in return. I realised that in Indian startup ecosystem, there is lot of rush but no speed.

So I ventured onto getting a remote job and take back control of my own time and space. Little did I know that being in an Indian Timezone will haunt me and make things harder AF.

Find Freelance Gig:

Along with a full-time job, I registered myself in all the freelancing sites I could find:

  • Upwork
  • Toptal
  • Freelancer
  • Fiverr
  • Gigster
  • 6nomads

I started sending proposals for anything I think I could do quickly. It took me 3 months of constantly sending proposals to get a single reply. I hopped on the call with the client and closed the deal.

In retrospect, the only reason he agreed to give me the project was that I had solved the exact problem he was trying to solve. I explained to him the intricate details of the problem and ensured him I am the best person to solve it for him.

The freelancing gig had a fallout within 3 months, once he found someone who was willing to do it for USD 10 per hour instead of the USD 3000 per month that I was charging. The client abruptly removed my access and didn't clear my final invoice.

Thankfully I still had my full-time job to fall back on, so it didn't affect me financially, but I was hooked. I loved the control I had over the time and space I was doing for the client.

Get a full-time remote job:

Till this point, I considered myself an expert in NodeJS and database management. Scars from scaling a startup to handling millions of users tend to do that. So I started applying as a NodeJS expert.

I applied for all the NodeJS related jobs in all remote job portals:

-remote.io
-weworkremotely.com
-stackoverflow.com
-angel.co
-linkedin.com
-nodesk.com
-flexjobs.com
-remotive.com
-remoteok.com

I used to write a custom cover letter and make modifications to the resume to highlight how I am great for the company. I kept doing it for about almost a year. I had sent 1126 emails, but nothing.

Absolutely nothing.

There wasn't even a single reply that would give me an opportunity to even interview. So I sought feedback on my resume and emails. All the feedback was - it is good, keep doing what you are doing. Duh!

LinkedIn has a feature that tells, how many people have applied for the particular job. I noticed, the number of people applying for NodeJS is significantly larger than number of people applying for DevOps.

Having worked in a startup has enabled me to work in all layers of the stack. So I knew I can manage infrastructure as well. I changed my cover letter and resume accordingly and started selling myself as a DevOps expert.

Within 2 weeks I had an interview call for 6 months remote contract. I joined the company at 2 times more salary than I was earning at my existing full-time job. Based on the performance, the 6 months contract got extended for 2 years.

Getting a job is the game of demand and supply.

-Research the market and figure where is the higher demand but lower supply.
-Be flexible, If I had been adamant on getting NodeJS job, I would have never landed any remote job.
-Perservere & do the grind.

Thanks for reading this.

If you have an idea and want to build your product around it, schedule a call with me.

If you want to learn more in DevOps and Backend space, follow me.

If you want to connect, reach out to me on Twitter and LinkedIn.

Top comments (0)