DEV Community

Cover image for Coding Period GSoC'23 | Week 1 + 2
Prerna Sharma
Prerna Sharma

Posted on • Updated on

Coding Period GSoC'23 | Week 1 + 2

The Google Summer of Code 2023 Coding Period kicked off on May 29th, following a community bonding period of approximately three weeks. As I have completed the second week I am happy to share my accomplishments and future plans with you all.

Checkout my previous blog about My Journey to GSoC'23

Community Bonding Period (May 4th - May 28th)

During the community bonding period, we had two meetings. The first meeting involved all the contributors and mentors, where we introduced ourselves and had a discussion on how we work in the GSoC program. The second meeting was specifically with my project mentors, where we discussed the project's timeline and the tasks of the project. Also, I must admit, I was quite nervous during the second meeting and ended up rambling a bit! ;-)

Work done (29th May - 11th June)

I initially started with the task of "implementing a safe recovery from simulator crashes". However, After having a discussion, we decided to complete the task of "implementing a state machine for the simulator to handle uncaught exception errors" before working on the simulator crash recovery task. So, I put the crash recovery task on hold and began implementing the state machine.

In state machine task, I created two states for the simulator that are "normal" and "error". When there are no errors in the circuit, the simulator remains in the normal state. However, as soon as an uncaught exception error occurs, the state transitions from normal to error. In the error state, the user can only delete or undo components in the circuit. So, Once the user removes the erroneous component, the simulator returns to the normal state and resumes its proper functioning.

After completing the state machine implementation, I resumed working on the recovery from simulator crash task. Previously, when a simulator crashed, all the circuit data would be lost. To address this, I developed an autosave feature where the circuit's data is saved in the local storage every time we click on the simulator. This allows us to restore the circuit to a previous state after a simulator crash.

Pull Requests:

So, what's next?

I will be working on the task of "Making a better system for high-impedance values handling" and then moving on to "expose helpful functions while debugging the circuit." My aim is to complete these tasks by the end of the fourth week.

As I wrap up the initial weeks of coding, I'm filled with enthusiasm to continue learning alongside CircuitVerse. The journey ahead is filled with excitement, and I can't wait to see what lies ahead!🚀

Dancing cat

Top comments (0)