DEV Community

Cover image for Coding Period GSoC'23 | Week 11 + 12
Prerna Sharma
Prerna Sharma

Posted on

Coding Period GSoC'23 | Week 11 + 12

It's with a bittersweet mix of emotions that I welcome you to the final of my exhilarating GSoC 2023 journey. Can you believe it? We've reached the end of this journey.

Now, Let's take a look at the work done in the last two weeks.

Work Done (11th August - 24th August)

First and foremost, I started working on completing the 'Moving a component mess up the connected wire pull request'. As I mentioned in my previous blog, this PR was not yet completed. In this PR, I have mainly tried to improve the way wiring connections are handled. Previously, even a slight movement of components resulted in tangled wires, but the new implementation significantly mitigates this issue. This enhancement is expected to greatly benefit users. With the new implementation, now when components are moved, their connections are less likely to be disrupted. For this, I changed the positions of node creations.

After that, I was looking for the data-integrity issues on #simulator-issues slack channel, and I came across an issue that error messages are being persistent and do not disappear even after resolving the issues. I addressed it by implementing a fix. Previously, when an error message was displayed on the canvas and a user clicked on it multiple times in quick succession, the message persisted even after the error was resolved. I resolved this problem, ensuring that error messages are now properly removed once the issue is resolved. For this, I declared a new global variable named fadeTimeOut, which is used to store the timeout ID for fading out an error message after a delay. Then, I added a check in the showError function, responsible for displaying errors on the canvas, to clear the previous timeout if it exists.

After that, I discussed this task with my mentors: Identifying areas where defensive coding practices are needed instead of assuming data will always be in the proper format. We found that the reason this task was created is somewhat related to what we handled in another task where we created a state machine, so this task is a bit unclear to us. Therefore, we decided to leave this task.

Pull Request

Fix: Moving a component mess up the connected wires

Feedbacks on Pull Requests

Feedback

Feedback

Feedback

Feedback

Future Plan

Now, I have resolved to extend my efforts in aiding new contributors and helping to continue the maintenance of the CircuitVerse simulator.

That's all for now. Thank you for reading!

Top comments (0)