DEV Community

Aaron Professorval
Aaron Professorval

Posted on

My first $10k from web development

I’ve been working as a full time freelance web developer since March 2020, and I am less than $50 away from hitting $10k!

This is probably nothing big, but it is to me, considering I first learnt HTML and CSS years back on a Nokia symbian phone for fun and didn’t think it would pay me someday.

I am more of a backend guy since my PHP is stronger than my JavaScript. By the way, I suck at designing too 😂.

Most of my clients came through Fiverr.

If this inspires anyone, then I would say keep learning and using the knowledge on test projects and you’ll start landing real projects soon!

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Curious how long have you been using Fiverr for freelancing? 👀

Collapse
 
profesorval profile image
Aaron Professorval

I created my first Fiverr gig in March 2020.

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Nice going in that case and props to you 👍

Thread Thread
 
profesorval profile image
Aaron Professorval

Thank you. Do you use Fiverr too? How has your experience been?

Thread Thread
 
madza profile image
Madza

Never used it, tho I might someday 😉
Your story is inspiring 👍

Thread Thread
 
profesorval profile image
Aaron Professorval

Thank you

Collapse
 
itsvitoracacio profile image
Vitor Acacio

Hey Aaron, Congratulations! That's an awesome milestone.
Did you find it hard to break out on fiverr initially since you start with no track recprd on the platform? What did you do to get your first clients there and how did it evolved to this point? It'd be great if you're able to make a post on that process.
Cheers

Collapse
 
profesorval profile image
Aaron Professorval

Hello Vitor,

I got my first job a month after creating a gig, and the job was from my response to a buyer request.

I did around 4gigs for $116 in the first month, and over the next two months, my earnings increased by almost a factor of 3, by I had around $400 in the 3rd month.

I am writing a blogpost on fiverr gigs and will cross post here when It’s ready.