DEV Community

Cover image for 🌊 Glam Up My Markup: Beach Edition 🌴
programORdie
programORdie

Posted on

🌊 Glam Up My Markup: Beach Edition 🌴

This is a submission for Frontend Challenge v24.04.17, Glam Up My Markup: Beaches

What I Built

🌊 Welcome to my beach paradise site!🌴

I crafted a responsive and visually appealing beach website that brings the beauty of the coast to your screen. My goal was to create an immersive online experience that captures the essence of a perfect beach day, complete with vibrant colors, smooth animations, and user-friendly navigation.

Demo

You can see the demo in the Codepen below, or view it in full screen here.

Journey

Creating this site was an exciting adventure! I started by brainstorming the essential elements that make a beach experience enjoyable and decided to incorporate them into the design.

Key Highlights:

  • No HTML Edited: None of the HTML in the template is edited. The images are added with JavaScript (except the banner, which is CSS), and everything else is pure CSS.
  • Responsive Design: Ensured the site looks great on all devices, from desktops to smartphones.
  • Smooth Animations: Added subtle animations to bring the beach scene to life without overwhelming the user.
  • Interactive Elements: Implemented interactive features like an automatically moving carousel and clickable beach items.

Learning Points:

  • Advanced CSS Techniques: Improved my skills in using Flexbox for layouts.
  • JavaScript for Interactivity: Enhanced my understanding of JavaScript to create interactive elements.
  • Accessibility: Focused on making the site accessible to all users, ensuring a pleasant experience for everyone.

Future Enhancements:

  • Enhanced Animations: Plan to add more detailed animations to further enhance the user experience.
  • Additional Interactive Features: Intend to incorporate more interactive and educational elements, such as marine life information and beach safety tips.

Overall, I'm proud of how this project turned out and look forward to building upon it. I hope you enjoy exploring my beach paradise as much as I enjoyed creating it! 🏖️

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
softwaredeveloping profile image
FrontEndWebDeveloping

Whoa! That has a nice UI. Thanks for sharing.

Collapse
 
dhrutisubham03 profile image
Dhrutisundar Sahoo

Nice one!

Collapse
 
hikolakita profile image
Hikolakita

I totally agree!

Collapse
 
programordie profile image
programORdie

Feel free to post feedback here!

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

🙌

Collapse
 
enzosantilli_js profile image
Enzo Santilli

Ohhh, it's awesome!!