DEV Community

Cover image for Season of Docs, Meeting-10
Prubhtej Singh
Prubhtej Singh

Posted on

Season of Docs, Meeting-10

On 28th October, I had a meeting with Jet Mante & James Scholz with regards to my Google's Season Of Docs Project.
Several points were discussed, and they're mentioned as follows:

  1. We'd discussed about Sections of the user documentation and corresponding API calls and resolved my doubt regarding the API calls corresponding to the Data Sharing Mechanisms.

  2. I also had a few doubts regarding the API calls corresponding to certain UI of SynBioHub. Most of them were resolved, but we were unable to reach a common consensus about 3-4 API calls.

  3. We'd briefly reviewed the first 3 sections of the User Documentation.

The mentors had assigned the following tasks:

  1. Adding the SPARQL search sub-section under the Searching using Keywords section.
  2. Elaborating the Downloading sub-section under the 3rd section.
  3. Plan and complete sections 4, 5 & 6.
  4. Proof Read all the 6 sections.

I was able to accomplish the following tasks:

  1. Added the SPARQL search section under the Searching using Keywords section.

  2. Elaborated the Downloading section under the Viewing & Downloading the Information section.

  3. Was able to successfully plan and complete the sections 4, 5 & 6.

  4. Proof read all the 6 sections.

Following are the problems that I'd faced this week:

  1. I did not have much of a knowledge about SPARQL, so initially it was tough for me to write the user documentation for that, but with the guidance of Jet and Prof. Myers I was able to successfully understand the basics of SPARQL and somewhat correlate it with MySQL.

  2. I got a bit confused regarding what should go under section-6 i.e, Data Sharing Mechanisms. After a brief discussion with Prof. Myers, I was able to successfully resolve my queries.

In the next meeting, I hope to clear all my doubts about the API calls corresponding to the UI of SynBioHub & take feedback regarding sections 4,5 & 6 of the User Documentation.

Top comments (0)