DEV Community

Cover image for My journey to DEV-life
Pujita Chakraborty
Pujita Chakraborty

Posted on

My journey to DEV-life

Recently I sat for an HR Interview for the post of LAMP stack. The HR asked me a few questions why did I choose this career path as an option? , When did I realize that I would be pursuing a Dev-career? Why it took me 5 years to realize that "Physics" was not for me?

I gave her the answers which were honest, true and the reality of my journey.
Let me start from the beginning when I was pursuing my bachelor's degree in physics, in the 4th semester we happened to learn flowchart and Fortran, which was apparently one of the toughest programming languages. I hated it, the implications were not clear to me, and I was not sure why I was learning that and how to build logic. It's funny that I was good in maths during my 12th std. This trauma of learning programming language and its furious theory was not done, there was another semester to pass with the added good grades of C-programming. This one was a bit easy to grasp. That was the phase where I got a tiny bit of interest in this new subject. I understood that with my fingertip, I could make my computer dance. Now coming back to the point of why I wasted 5 years of my life deciding which career I want to pursue. There are two reasons, The first one is due to financial conditions I never wanted to take admissions in the Tech domain, and the second yet funny reason was I didn't have the knowledge that CSE is an amazing career to explore. Then I did my Master's In physics too, cause my friends were doing that, and even though I was interested in programmes I had no hint that without doing engineering I could pursue an amazing tech career, until and unless one friend of mine(who is a data scientist) suggested me to. Cut to now I am learning, making projects watching documentaries, and reading articles. I have goals, I did make a change for my great life. Now the question is, physics is also amazing, it also has great career opportunities. Yes, it does, but it's the realization which hit me that this subject is not for me. Even if I get the opportunity to do PhD, I will be an empty vessel with regrets, and unable to explain how beautiful and beautiful subject physics is.
Thank you for your patience in reading my journey.Willing to post my knowledge every day. I do post on Git Hub. You can follow me on Linkedin too.

Top comments (0)